Rush Co	ush County Sheriff Listing 1878 to Present	
Elected	Name	Years Served
1875	P. H. Mosier	January 1875 - January 1878
1877	D.E. Miller	January 1878 - December 1879
1879	A. J. Redman	January 1880 - December 1881
1881	D. E. Miller	January 1882 - December 1883
1883	A. J. Redman	January 1884 - December 1887
1885	A. J. Redman	
1887	W. A. Ficken	January 1888 - January 1890
1889	H. T. Brooks	January 1890 - January 1894
1892	H. T. Brooks	
1893	H. L. Brown	January 1894 - December 1897
1895	H. L. Brown	
1897	J. C. Littler (elected Nov. 1897)	January 1898 - December 1902
1900	J. C. Littler	
1902	J. M. Purcell	January 1903 - December 1906
1904	J. M. Purcell	
1906	John H. Hartman	Jan 1907 - June 1907 (died in office)
1907	J. F. Wolfe	July 1907 - December 1908
1908	Joseph Schoenberger	January 1909 - December 1912
1910	Joseph Schoenberger	
1912	J. M. Purcell	January 1913 - December 1914
1914	L. H. (Ham) Robertson	January 1915 - December 1918
1916	L. H. (Ham) Robertson	
1918	Fred Wolfe	January 1919 - December 1922
1920	Fred Wolfe	
1922	R. J. Talbott	January 1923 - December 1926
1924	R. J. Talbott	
1926	Fred Wolfe	January 1927 - December 1930
1928	Fred Wolfe	
1930	C. R. Whiteman	January 1931 - November 1934
1932	C. R Whiteman	
1934	Charles. M. Kraus	November 1934 - January 1935
1934	Henry Heinze	January 1935 - December 1938
1936	Henry Heinze	
1938	Charles M. Kraus	January 1939 - December 1942
1940	Charles M. Kraus	
1942	H. G. "Bert" Ficken	January 1943 - December 1946
1944	H. G. "Bert" Ficken	
1946	Charles M. Kraus	January 1947 - December 1950
1948	Charles M. Kraus	

1950	Marvin Krug	January 1951 - December 1954	
1952	Marvin Krug		
1954	Bennie Parker	January 1955 - December 1958	
1956	Bennie Parker		
1958	Lorene Parker*	January 1959 - December 1960	
	*Due to term limits of 2 consecutive terms, the Sheriff's wife ran for the position, and the sheriff served as undersheriff.		
1960	Bennie Parker (resigned May 1, 1962 - Mendenhall apptd)	January 1961 - May 1, 1962	
1962	Jack Mendenhall	May 1, 1962 - December 1964	
1964	Jack Mendenhall		
1964	Sharon Mendenhall	January 1965 - December 1968	
1966	Sharon Mendenhall		
1968	Jack Mendenhall	January 1969 - December 2004	
1970	Jack Mendenhall		
1972	Jack Mendenhall*		
	(1972 law passed repealing 2-term limit)		
1974	Jack Mendenhall		
1976	Jack Mendenhall*		
	(1976 law changing term to 4 years)		
1980	Jack Mendenhall		
1984	Jack Mendenhall		
1988	Jack Mendenhall		
1992	Jack Mendenhall		
1996	Jack Mendenhall		
2000	Jack Mendenhall		
2004	Ward Corsair	January 2005 - September 2024	
2008	Ward Corsair		
2012	Ward Corsair		
2016	Ward Corsair		
2020	Ward Corsair		
	(Corsair resigned to work for KBI - Sept 2024)		
2024	Mark Knowles	appointed September 2024	
	Mark Knowles (elected Nov. 2024)	January 2025- present	