Public Notices:


Presidential Preference Primary

A Presidential Preference Primary Election will be held on March 19. The deadline to register or update voter registration is February 20 to participate in the preference primary.


A presidential preference primary takes an act by the Kansas legislature to be conducted. The enactment takes the responsibility from the two state parties (Republican and Democrat) in Kansas from conducting a caucus, and instead, having the state of Kansas conduct a primary election. It is a “preference” primary because it is an election where the vote totals are given to a political party to allocate delegates to candidates at the national convention. This is not a primary where the voters selected the party candidate.


Secretary of State Scott Schwab announced that eight candidates, four Democrats and four Republicans, met the filing deadline for the state’s Presidential Preference Primary. Candidates were required to pay a $10,000 filing fee and submit notarized paperwork with the Kansas Secretary of State’s office. Each ballot will have four candidate names, as well as a “none of the names shown” option.


The Democrat filed candidates are: Dean Phillips, Jason Michael Palmer, Joseph R Biden Jr. and Marianne Williamson.


The Republican filed candidates are: Donald J. Trump, Nikki R. Haley, Ron DeSantis and Ryan L. Binkley.


In Kansas, it is a function of the state political parties to allocate delegates to presidential candidates at each party’s national convention to select each party’s presidential nominee. Such delegates are chosen via caucus or convention by the political parties. This year, the state legislature decided to resurrect the state-run presidential preference primary, which had only been used in Kansas in 1980 and 1992.


Anyone with questions or wanting more information can contact the County Clerk’s office, 785-222-2731.



County Websites will be down for scheduled maintenance:

March 26, 2024: 11 pm – 3 am


Post Election Audit

Presidential Preference Primary Election – 2024

The post-election audit will be held Thursday, March 21, 2024 at 1:30 p.m. in the Rush County Commissioners’ office in the Rush County Courthouse, 715 Elm, LaCrosse, KS. The selection of races and precincts for the audit will be held Thursday, March 21, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. at the same location.